Kamchatsky Season by Ed Gabov (Translated from Russian by Alex Leonard)

by Ed Gabov (Translated from Russian by Alex Leonard), Kurungabaa, Volume 1, Issue 3, December 2008

NB. Following is the English version, and then the Russian version. Thanks Alex and Ed!

viewHi, everyone. I’m Ed. I live in the weird and wonderful city of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky. I’ve snowboarded for nine years and competed in local events, but I’ve always wanted to learn to surf, because I live right next to the Pacific Ocean.

About five years ago a guy came to us from Moscow bringing a couple of surfboards and wetsuits, and I gave it a shot for an hour. It was simply amazing. Just like in the movies. Of course I didn’t manage to stand, but I did catch a wave and ride it lying down. A few days later our friend left, leaving behind the surfboards and a new dream.

For five years I waited for another chance to ride a wave. During that time, many things happened. Work, house and family take up a lot of time in life (there’s no getting around it). I was only snowboarding on my day off – Sunday. But the queues to snowboard were much longer than they had used to be, since snowboarding had become accessible to everyone. And so I took to thinking more and more about surfing, and where I could buy a wetsuit so I could experience that amazing feeling of riding a wave again.

Finally, this year I realised my dream. My family flew to the mainland for summer, while I stayed at home alone. After work I had some time. Without thinking twice I went to see my friend Sergei Kaschuk, who has a sports store called ‘Pegas’, and I bought a Pro-Limit Global series 5/3 wetsuit and gloves. I loaned booties from a guy who rides a jetski. They’re not the right shape for surfing, they don’t have firm soles, and already in autumn it’s cold in them. But I’ve since ordered new ones. I think it will be possible to extend my surfing season with the help of new technology using titanium for cold water. I took the board (D-Black) – the same one my friend Radik from Moscow had left – and set off towards the ocean.

I surfed on the open edge of the Pacific Ocean, at a place called Khalaktirsky Beach. It’s a sandy beach. Black sand. The beach is almost right next to my house, just 16km away – half an hour by car on a gravel road (speeding) and I’m there. And there it is: the unbelievable open space of the ocean.

It’s always hard to learn a new activity, but as it happens nine years of riding snowboards weren’t for nothing. Gradually, without help and by trial and error I learned to paddle, stand up and catch waves. Some things I took from movies I had seen. I’ve seen many different surf films, but the one that has made the greatest impression on me is In God’s Hands, a movie about surfing big waves. I wouldn’t mind having a practical video with lessons, but I haven’t come across one yet and guess I’ll have to place an order.

In two months I learned to stand and go straight on a wave. That summer I surfed only at Khalaktirsky Beach, since I hadn’t looked into other spots. After all, I’m still learning and still don’t have any friends to go surfing with.

I only went surfing in fine weather. Sometimes the waves were too big for me to paddle out to where they were beginning to break. On a couple of occasions they would have been 2.5m, even 3m high. I still don’t know why, but I remember that when I was driving home on those evenings the moon was full. Maybe there’s a connection. I mainly surfed in the evenings, between 8pm and 10pm. I still don’t know what kind of waves occur when the winds are strong, but I’ll look into it.

There were left-breaking waves and right-breaking waves. A wave would break from the middle out to either side. But not always. The height and strength of the waves also varied. At first I tried to count set waves to work out which would be the biggest, but it varied from set to set.

Admittedly, waves didn’t come every day. Sometimes I would drive to the beach only to discover that it was flat, and so I would drive back home.

In the summer, in July and August, in my wetsuit I could stay in the water for hours. I don’t know what the water temperature was, but children and adults were entering the ocean in swimsuits. My wetsuit kept me warm even until the middle of September, when my surfing finished for the year.

Realistically, I think you could surf from May to October. In October it starts to get dark early, and then I don’t have time after work. It’s probably at this time that our winter begins – the water starts to get cold.

Now I have a new surfboard, made to my order by Radik (Russia’s first shaper of surfboards and snowboards, the guy who came to us five years ago). Radik was very happy to hear that I hadn’t given up on the activity he’d introduced me to, and in September when my family came back home he sent me a new board with them. The board is 215cm long and 50cm wide – an almost exact copy of my first board, but half the weight.

Next summer I’m going to buy a wetsuit for my wife (she’s a very good snowboarder too), so we can go out after work as a family to the ocean, far from the hustle and bustle and polluted air of the city. What else do you need to be happy?

Best regards to all surfers from Kamchatka!

– Ed Gabov
(Translated from the Russian by Alex Leonard)

Russian Version:

Эд Габов – 1
kurungabaa vol. 1 no. 3, october 2008
Камчатский сезон
view-2Всем привет. Меня зовут Эд. Я живу в чудном городе Петропавловск-Камчатский. Девять лет
катаюсь на сноуборде, участвовал в соревнованиях (местных), но всегда хотел научиться
кататься на сёрфе, ведь рядом океан, Большой Тихий.
Лет пять назад к нам прилетел парень из Москвы и привез с собой пару досок и гидрики. Мне
удалось попробовать, что это такое, и час провести в воде. Это был просто кайф. Как в кино.
Конечно, встать мне не удалось, но поймать волну и лежа катиться на ней получалось. Несколько
дней спустя наш друг улетел, оставив доски и мечты.
Пять лет, я ждал, когда вновь смогу оказаться на волне. За эти годы многое произошло. Работа,
дом, семья забирают много времени из жизни (без этого никак). На сноуборде теперь катаюсь
только в выходной, он у меня в воскресенье. Да и очередь на канатку не та, что раньше, ведь
сноуборд стал доступен всем. И поэтому всё чаще я стал думать, где купить гидрик, чтобы опять
испытать кайф на сёрфе.
И вот в этом году я, наконец, воплотил свою мечту. Семья летом улетела на материк, а я остался
дома. После работы появилось время. И я, не долго думая, пошёл к другу Сергею Кащуку, у него
свой спортивный магазин “Пегас”, и купил гидрокостюм фирмы Prolimit 5/3 Global series и
перчатки. Выпросил у райдеров на водных мотоциклах боты, пока не такие, как надо – не та
форма, нет липучек для обжима стопы, и по осени в них уже холодно кататься. Сейчас я заказал
новые ботинки. Думаю, можно будет продлить сезон катания благодаря новым технологиям с
использованием титана для холодной воды. Взял доску (D-BLACK) – ту, что осталась после
приезда моего друга Радика из Москвы, и отправился на океан.
Катаюсь я на открытом побережье Тихого океана. Место называется Халактырский пляж. Весь
берег песчаный. Песок черный. Пляж почти рядом с моим домом, всего в 16 км – полчаса на авто
по гравийной дороге (тот еще экстрим), и я на месте. Вот оно, необъятное пространство океана.
Учиться всегда трудно, но получается, девять лет катания на сноуборде не прошли даром.
Потихоньку, без чьей-либо помощи, методом проб и ошибок я учился грести, вставать, понимать
волны. Смотрел кино, что-то брал оттуда. Пересмотрел много разных серфовых фильмов, но
больше всего меня впечатлил фильм “В Божьих руках” (In God hands). Это кино о катании на
больших волнах. Хотелось бы ещё практического видео с уроками, но их пока нет, надо
заказывать.
За два месяца научился вставать и ехать но прямой. Этим летом катался на Халактырском пляже,
другие места ещё не исследовал, пока учусь, да и компании еще нет, чтобы съездить куда-нибудь.
Катался пока только в хорошую погоду. Иногда бывают такие волны, что очень трудно грести до
места, где они начинаются. Несколько раз были метра 2,5, а то и все 3. Я пока не знаю точно,
когда такие приходят. Когда уезжал домой, было, полнолуние. Может, с этим как-то связано.
Эд Габов – 2
kurungabaa vol. 1 no. 3, october 2008
Катался в основном вечерами с восьми до десяти. Ещё не знаю какие бываю волны при сильном
ветре, буду исследовать.
Волны есть и правые, и левые. Волна ломается по центру и расходится в две стороны. Но не
всегда. Высота и сила волн тоже разные, когда как. Сначала я считал, какая самая высокая в сете,
но они меняются.
Правда, волны есть не всегда. Иногда приедешь, а их нет, и опять домой.
Летом, в июле и августе, я в гидрике мог находиться в воде часами. Не знаю, сколько градусов
была температура воды, но детвора и взрослые заходили в океан в плавках.
Мой гидрик держит тепло даже в середине сентября, а перчи и боты пока нет, поэтому и заказал
себе новые ботинки. На этом моё катание закончилось до следующего лета.
Я думаю, что кататься реально с мая по октябрь. В октябре рано темнеет, да и лично у меня,
например, не будет времени после работы. Наверное, с этого времени и начинается наша зима –
вода становится холодной.
Сейчас у меня уже новая доска, сделанная на заказ Радиком (это первый шейпер в России по
сёрфам и сноубордам, он-то и приезжал к нам пять лет назад). Он очень обрадовался, что я не
забросил начатое им дело, и в сентябре, когда моя семья летела домой, передал для меня новый
борд. Доска длиной 215 см и шириной 50 см – почти точная копия моей первой, что на фото,
только легче в два раза.
Следующим летом собираюсь купить жене гидрик (она у меня тоже круто катается на сноуборде),
всей семьёй после работы будем уезжать на океан, подальше от суеты города и загрязненного
воздуха. А что ещё надо для счастья?
Всем сёрферам огромный привет с Камчатки.
– Эд Габов

Originally published at the Crazy! Surf Club

