Tuvulu and Kiribati photo-essay by Rodney Dekker

Our hope is that God will have mercy on us on the low coral islands. I’m asking God to work with the big countries to show more mercy to us, to consider our situation … I ask … if they could put us somewhere in their minds.

– Eria Maerere – Kiribati community leader
*

Photojournalist Rodney Dekker visited Tuvalu and Kiribati for Oxfam to explore how climate change is affecting life there. He shares his photos alongside quotes from local people. See the whole essay-article here.

I’ve been travelling from country to country advocating and campaigning on the issue of climate change. The passion, the force that keeps me going, is the realisation that what I received from my ancestors, I won’t be able to hand down … to my children and my grandchildren.

Reverend Tafue Lusama – Tuvalu

We know that the rise of the sea is a true thing. It comes in. [It] comes to the dry places, it reaches the unreached spots. Who causes it? Our brothers and sisters in the big countries. I’m asking God to work with the big countries to show mercy to us, to consider our situation.

– Eria Maerere – Kiribati community leader
*
