“Wade in the water”

I went for a surf today. Beach access is something I often take for granted. If it weren’t for people like MLK Jr., Rosa Parks, and all those who demanded and continue to demand to be treated equal to other human beings, I might not have been able to paddle out this sunny afternoon without being beaten or arrested. This photo of the wade-in and subsequent police riot which took place in St. Augustine, Florida, on June 25, 1964 is my tribute to the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. and other unsung heroes of ongoing civil rights movements around the world. I learned about wade-ins which African-American and People of Color (POC) communities staged in order to gain the simplest thing–beach access–through the film White Wash. Here’s the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5D-AEnq2yg

