uncle boonmee

…off-topic, I know, but this film made my year. Give yourself an early new year’s evening and see this…

Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives – “a beautiful, mysterious and playful film by the Thai director Apichatpong Weerasethakul – winner of this year’s Cannes Palme d’Or – is about ghosts, past lives and the fear of death, things that in another sort of movie would be presented as scary or sentimental, but are here accepted as alternative phenomena, existing alongside day-to-day normalities. The poetry is all in this calm and gentle equivalence. The film’s sublimely spiritual quality induces a benign narcosis.

…one of those rare films that contribute to the sum of human happiness: it certainly increased the sum of my happiness.” – Peter Bradshaw, Guardian

“I have my own take, but sometimes that spoils the audience’s imagination. I can say, in short, it’s a movie about a dying man. It talks about death and at the same time life and dreams, and also the memory of how I grew up with this landscape.”
– Apichatpong Weerasethakul

