swimming the west coast

“Cape Wrath had taken its toll on us and for the first time I wondered if I had missed the weather window. Trying to swim along the north coast of Scotland in November (or near enough) was always going to be tough. I just didn’t think it was going to be this hard…”
from his blog entry in late October, Conway detailed his experience of swimming in the far north of Scotland.

Sean Conway arrives at John O'Groats after being the first person to swim the length of the UK

Sean Conway arrives at John O’Groats after becoming the first person to swim the length of the UK from Land’s End. Photograph: Andrew Milligan/PA – snitched from the Guardian

Sean Conway, 32, has made history by completing a marathon swim from Land’s End to John O’Groats in just under four months. The adventurer left Cornwall on 30 June, swimming along the west coast to the most northerly point of the UK mainland.

“The weather’s been quite tough – big winds and big waves have slowed my progress a bit.

“Getting stung by jellyfish is quite tough. I’ve had to grow a ridiculous beard to shield my face and had to cover up with loads of Vaseline because every now and again I’d take a stroke and get a jellyfish right in the face and I don’t know who gets more of a fright, me or it.

“We’ve lost kayaks at sea, rigs at sea and our boat has taken a bit of a hammering; we all took a bit of a hammering. The sea can be a nasty place.”

Every year thousands of people attempt to walk, cycle or run the journey between Land’s End and John O’Groats, a distance of 874 miles (1,407km) by road. Sean Conway completed the final mile of his journey by sea on Monday, making him the first person to swim the length of the UK.

More here from his site

